Skater's Choice Awards

The skater’s choice award is the brain child of a Steven Andersen – a Milton Speed Skating Club alumnus. The award is intended to be an award by the skaters for the skaters.

The previous year’s winner selects a short list of skaters who he/she feels has a leadership presence. The nominee must also have motivation to attempt an achievable goal and finally the nominated skater should be a role model.

The rest of the skaters then cast a ballot for one of the short listed skaters.  The winner is determined by the outcome of the vote

  • 2013/2014 Jackson Tomlinson
  • 2014/2015 Matthew Laxton
  • 2015/2016 Emily Wood
  • 2016/2017 Lauren Garrison
  • 2017/2018 William Washington
  • 2018/2019 Mitchell Belleghem
  • 2019/2020 Nigel Emblin
  • 2020/2021 Isaac Emblin
  • 2022/2023 violet Velicevic
  • 2023/2024 Could be you!

Premium partners